top of page

Upcycling Tennis Racquets


Being inspired by Wimbledon, I went to a few charity shops in the area and saw some beautiful old wooden tennis racquets for sale (and one squash racquet). Naturally, my brain said "buy them, you can make something cool with them - but what, I am not sure yet....". So I obeyed and did a bit of internet image searching and found people had done some great artwork and fun ideas with tennis racquets.

Now I love a good pun and thought it would be fun to stitch some fun words or phrases onto the tennis racquets and make them into simple pieces of wall art as potential gifts.

I used a mixture of wool and leather to stitch various fun phrases on the tennis racquets and they took a lot longer than I thought. I had to consider the uneven square pattern of my 'aida' as well as the rounded sides and did a fair bit of unpicking and re-stitching.

They turned out well and it was fun. If you need a gift for a Birthday or Anniversary coming up then do visit my Etsy and Folksy shops.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Twitter Clean
bottom of page